Tendulkar takes top honours at glittering ICC Awards night............

ndia's cricketing icon Sachin Tendulkar was tonight named Cricketer of the Year at the prestigious LG ICC Awards, held at a glittering ceremony in Bengaluru.

Tendulkar was also named as the first recipient of the inaugural LG People's Choice Award and was named in both the Test and ODI Teams of the Year.

Tendulkar was joined on the winners' list by team-mate Virender Sehwag, who took the Test Player of the Year award while South Africa batsman AB de Villiers was named ODI Player of the Year. England's Steven Finn claimed his first ever ICC award when he was named Emerging Player of the Year.

Meanwhile, Australia's Shelley Nitschke became the second Australian to win the Women's Cricketer of the Year Award (former captain Karen Rolton took the prize in 2006) and Netherlands' Ryan ten Doeschate was named the Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year gong, an award recognising the contribution of the teams below Full Member status are making in the world of cricket.

In total there were nine individual awards handed out, as well as the Spirit of Cricket Award and the two ICC Teams of the Year - for Tests and ODIs.

Aleem Dar of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires won the Umpire of the Year Award for the second year in a row, while New Zealand took the Spirit of Cricket Award as it did in 2004 and in 2009.

The Twenty20 International Performance of the Year was won by New Zealand's Brendon McCullum who became the third-ever recipient of the honour. McCullum took the trophy following his spectacular 116 not out off 56 balls against Australia in Christchurch in February of this year.

ICC President Sharad Pawar said: "This past year of cricket has been another exciting one for players and supporters around the world in a time that included the ICC Champions Trophy 2009, the Men's and Women's ICC World Twenty20 2010 and ICC World Cricket League Division 1 and plenty of competitive Test and ODI cricket.

"These players have contributed hugely to our enjoyment and this night is all about recognising that excellence and talent."

The full list of winners is:

Cricketer of the Year (winning the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) - Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)

- Women's Cricketer of the Year - Shelley Nitschke (Aus)

- Test Player of the Year - Virender Sehwag (Ind)

- ODI Player of the Year - AB de Villiers (SA)

- Emerging Player of the Year - Steven Finn (Eng)

- Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year - Ryan ten Doeschate (Ned)

- Twenty20 International Performance of the Year - Brendon McCullum (NZ)

- Spirit of Cricket - New Zealand

- Umpire of the Year (winning the David Shepherd Trophy) - Aleem Dar

ICC Test Team of the Year is as follows (in batting order):

- Virender Sehwag (Ind)

- Simon Katich (Aus)

- Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)

- Hashim Amla (SA)

- Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

- Jacques Kallis (SA)

- Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind, captain and wicketkeeper)

- Graeme Swann (Eng)

- James Anderson (Eng)

- Dale Steyn (SA)

- Doug Bollinger (Aus)

ICC ODI Team of the Year is as follows (in batting order):

- Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)

- Shane Watson (Aus)

- Michael Hussey (Aus)

- AB de Villiers (SA)

- Paul Collingwood (Eng)

- Ricky Ponting (Aus, captain)

- MS Dhoni (Ind, wicketkeeper)

- Daniel Vettori (NZ)

- Stuart Broad (Eng)

- Doug Bollinger (Aus)

- Ryan Harris (Aus)

No comments:

Post a Comment